The 2021 F.O.O.L.S. International Convention Awards is now open 
Here is the list of awards 

An order of business that needs to be completed prior to all conventions is the nominations for the five awards that will be given this year.
They are as follows:

DANA HANNON AWARD - Dana Hannon was a F.O.O.L.S. member that made training part of his life. He was an FDIC East/FDIC West HOT instructor, as well as a member of the FDNY and Wyckoff, NJ Fire Department. Dana was killed on Sept. 11, 2001.
This award will be given to the F.O.O.L.S. Member who shows a true passion for training his Brother and Sister firefighters. Through training, we can ensure that our Brothers and Sisters will have the knowledge and skills that will protect them on the job.

CHRIS BLACKWELL AWARD - Chris was a Firefighter for the FDNY assigned to Rescue 3. Chris was also a F.O.O.L.S. member, receiving his card only 3 months before being killed in the attacks on the World Trade Center on Sept. 11, 2001. Chris was also into training, teaching collapse training at FDIC and FDIC West as a HOT instructor. Chris was also awarded numerous times with medals of bravery from the FDNY.
This award will be given to the most active F.O.O.L.S. Chapter. A chapter that has been active in their own community and fire service community by fund raising events, training opportunities and the like. A F.O.O.L.S. Chapter that has shown not only their fellow firefighters, but the general public the true brotherhood of our profession through purpose, kindness and dedication.

JOHN MICKEL AWARD - It is named in honor of Osceola County Fire Rescue Lt John Mickel, who died tragically during a live fire exercise. His dedication to training and brotherhood were evident in his work, as well as by the performance of his crew.
This award is designated for a Chapter that spreads the spirit and the word of the F.O.O.L.S. through Brotherhood.

JOSH EARLEY AWARD - Josh Earley was a career fireman assigned to Engine Company 27 of the Charlotte Fire Department. He also served as a part-time fireman with the Harrisburg Fire and Rescue Department. His service was steeped in tradition and pride in being an American Fireman. Because of Josh’s dedication and commitment to being a fireman, he took great pride in being an inaugural member of the Charlotte Metro F.O.O.L.S.. Josh died three days after sustaining mortal injuries at a fire in a private dwelling, while serving as a Harrisburg firefighter.
The Josh Earley Award was created to honor a rookie or new firefighter who shows initiative and passion for the job.

FOOL OF THE YEAR - This F.O.O.L.S. member is an all around ambassador to the mission statement of our organization. A member that has spread the message of the F.O.O.L.S. not only through his or her own chapter, but outside of the F.O.O.L.S., bringing in new members, and starting new chapters. By setting a good example to other firefighters, a positive image of our organization is spread to all who come in contact with him/her.

These are the five awards that will be given at the 2020 F.O.O.L.S. Annual Convention.

At the 2014 President’s Breakfast, it was announced that the International E-Board will choose the winners of the Chris Blackwell Award (most active chapter) and John Mickel Award (chapter that spreads the spirit and the word of the F.O.O.L.S.) based on:
Social media, Facebook, Twitter etc.
Training Submissions
What the chapter is doing.
You can also send in any submissions for these awards as well.
To nominate a F.O.O.L.S. Member or a Chapter in good standing, please go to the website and make your nominations.